Friday, 16 April 2010

Trespassers William - Vapour Trail

Trespassers William is the brainchild of Matt Brown (guitar/keys) and Anna-Lynn Williams (vocals/guitar). Based in Seattle, the group have three studio albums to their name; Different Stars (2004), Having (2006) and the long-deleted Anchor (1999).

Characterised by an emotive, shimmering sound, their recordings are driven by Williams' absorbing voice and subtle, crafted song-writing.

In 2003, the band released a cover of Ride's majestic 'Vapour Trail', stripping it down and remodelling it into a bewitching, fragile ballad. Taking on such a revered song is a risky move for any artist, but in that one moment, Tresspassers William produced arguably the highlight of their career thus far.

Trespassers William are a highlight of the live circuit and continue to record new material, both as individual artists (Brown records under the pseudonym of Disinterested and Williams as Lotte Kestner) and a group.

No comments:

Post a comment