Wednesday, 9 July 2014

Sounds of Sputnik - New Born

Sounds of Sputnik is the brainchild of Roma Kalitkin, a solo artist previously known for his work with Sputnik-Vostok and Berlin-Bombay.
Wielding influences as diverse as Hammock and Jesu, Kalitkin has worked with a distinguished array of collaborators to produce Sound of Sputnik's debut LP, New Born. Featuring drum work from Graham Bonner (Swervedriver/Brian Jonestown Massacre) and remixes from the likes of Malcolm Holmes (OMD) and Fran Ashcroft (Damon Albarn), New Born is an ambitious project and an evident labour of love.

Significantly, a key ally in the creative process were Ukrainian shoegazers, Ummagma. Acknowledged by both songwriting and production credits, New Born boasts the now-familiar vocals of Shauna McLarnon as well as the studio wizardry of partner-in-crime Alexander Kretov. The end result is a euphoric mix of jubilant dream pop and elegant electronica.

Whilst New Born is released across digital platforms on August 25th, those of us who prefer a physical format will need to be quick to ensure their copy. A limited run of CDs is planned, but preordering before July 15th is essential to guarantee a pressing.

Like what you hear? Then show some love and preorder via Bandcamp, here.

No comments:

Post a Comment